More Evidence of Jozwiak-Juzwiak Link

I have known about this gravestone for sometime now, but I forgot to mention it as further evidence that Juzwiak and the Jozwiaks of Calumet are indeed the same family. This is the gravestone of Anton Juzwiak, the father of Michael Juzwiak (the nephew of the Pytlewski Immigrant Brothers (i.e. John Joseph, Joseph, and Stanislaus)). His name is spelled Jozwiak on the tombstone. To make a long story short, Anton died in a mining accident where he and about a dozen other miners suffocated from a fire. Two years later, two of his sons died together in another mining accident. The photo can be found on the Houghton-Keweenaw County Genealogical Society Website.

13 thoughts on “More Evidence of Jozwiak-Juzwiak Link

    1. Be aware the name is spelled both in Polish and in Russian … same family. My mother was a Yuzwiak (many found in Texas) but some family members changed the spelling to Joswiak because of the pronunciation difficulties in America. I’ve been out of the genealogy loop for several years now because of personal problems so I’m behind in a lot but my great grandfather’s name was Frank Yuzwiak b. in Posen, Poland 1862. Came from a large family of 10 kids, I think but broke away from the family. Please share whatever you feel comfortable with. Thanks. -Elaine Okerson

      Like

  1. Don

    I haven’t seen much compiled information on the Juzwiak family in electronic or print format. Ancestry.com has a bunch of Juzwiaks in their database. I would suggest contacting you local public library and asking them if they have access to ancestry.com. If your family is from the Calumet, MI region, I have some information on that family I’m more than willing to share. I don’t have it posted anywhere on my blog or website because I haven’t established a relational link to the Pytlewski family. Thank you for your interest and good luck in your search.

    Like

    1. Be aware the name is spelled both in Polish and in Russian … same family. My mother was a Yuzwiak (many found in Texas) but some family members changed the spelling to Joswiak because of the pronunciation difficulties in America. I’ve been out of the genealogy loop for several years now because of personal problems so I’m behind in a lot but my great grandfather’s name was Frank Yuzwiak b. in Posen, Poland 1862. Came from a large family of 10 kids, I think but broke away from the family. Please share whatever you feel comfortable with. Thanks. -Elaine Okerson

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m researching the Jozwiak name also and my Jozwiak settled in Washington County, TX. I have an Anton Jozwiak in my family tree. Do you know who Antone was married to?

    Like

    1. Hi LaFayne. Sorry for the very late response. Unfortunately, I think we may be researching two different Anton Jozwiaks. The Anton Jozwiak that I am researching married Agnes Antkowiak.

      Like

  3. This is Elaine; I left the message Dec. 2013. Look up FRANK JUZWIAK on ANCESTORS.COM .. The old man “JOSEPH” is listed with his son FRANISCS and all 12 of his grandchildren. (It’s only taken me 20 years to find them). PLEASE share with me any family stories and/or photos and I will do likewise. Happy hunting! Elaine Okerson elaineok@charter.net

    Like

    1. Hi Elaine, Thank you for commenting. Sorry for the very late response. Life has been a little busy and for some reason the previous comments in this thread did not get to me. Unfortunately, I don’t have Ancestry.com at home. I usually look use it on my lunch breaks at work (I’m a librarian at a public library). What database are you referring to on ancestry? A family tree perhaps? I have continued researching the Jozwiak link since this post. I believe the Anton Jozwiak that I posted about here is the son of Ignatius Jozwiak and Catharina Szałamacha. He was born in Wegierskie, Poznan, Poland in 1842. The Anton that I am researching married Agnes Antkowiak and did have a son, named Frank. Frank, however, was born in Calumet, Michigan and he died in November, 1970. Do you think there may be a possible connection here?

      Like

Leave a Reply

